top of page

The Inaugural PHA Teresia Teaiwa Prize


The Pacific History Association established the PHA Teresia Teaiwa Prize (NZ$1000) in 2018 to honour the profound legacy of the late Teresia Teaiwa, former PHA President and Secretary.

The prize is awarded for a conference presentation by students and emerging scholars which promotes the innovation, originality and critical creativity that characterized Teresia’s work.


The inaugural prize was awarded at the PHA’s 2021 conference to Talei Luscia Mangioni (then at the

Australian National University) for her presentation, ‘Art-story of the Niuklia Fri Pasifik’.


Submission guidelines. Guidelines for the 2023 prize will be released in the lead up to the 2023 conference.

For queries about the competition contact Dr Jacqui Leckie, Chair, Teresia Teaiwa Prize Komiti

The Gunson Essay Prize


Established in 2012, the Gunson Essay prize ($AUD 1,000) is awarded by The Journal of Pacific History every two years in conjunction with the Pacific History Association’s biennial conference.

The prize promotes the work of scholars at the early stages of their research. It also pays tribute to Dr Niel Gunson, from the Australian National University, for mentoring so many students and scholars over a lifetime of dedication to Pacific history.

The past prize winners are: 

  • 2012. Nicholas Hoare (then at Victoria University of Wellington), ‘“Harry” Holland and Samoa: the Labour leader’s “Samoa complex”’.

  • 2014. Kristie Patricia Flannery (then at the University of Texas at Austin), Battlefield Diplomacy and Empire-building in the Early Modern Pacific World.

  • 2016. Benjamin Sacks (then at the University of Western Australia), “Running Away with Itself”: Missionaries, Islanders and the Reimagining of Recreation in Samoa, 1830–1939.

  • 2018. Elyssa J. Santos (then at University of Hawai’i at Manoa), “More Better” Ideas: Chamorro Resistance to U.S. Development Projects on Guam, 1898–1941.

  • 2021. Harry Needham (then at the Australian National University), "A story of our people's triumph": Nauruan Histories of Angam.


The 2023 Gunson Essay Prize winner will be announced at the PHA conference at Deakin University in Australia in 2023. Postgraduate or senior students from any country are invited to submit an essay

– in English
– between 5,000 and 8,000 words
– on any topic relating to the pasts of the Island Pacific and its peoples.

Each entry must consist of two documents: one with the author’s name, contact details, essay title and abstract of 150 words; the other consisting of the essay itself, anonymised, with title, abstract and text. Referencing should be consistent, accurate and complete, but authors do not need to follow any one particular set of conventions for presentation.

The essay submitted for the prize should not have been published or accepted for publication in any outlet by the closing date for entries.

The winning entry will, in the eyes of the judges, make the most valuable contribution to our historical knowledge, draw convincingly from relevant sources and communicate effectively.

The judging committee will consist of three members, including a special speaker at the PHA Conference, a representative of PHA and a representative of The Journal of Pacific History.

For further details, contact The Journal of Pacific History, jph[at]


bottom of page